The South Wolds Academy and Sixth Form

Post 16 Destinations

What are Post 16 Pathways?

Post 16 pathways are what you do after you finish your GCSEs.

By law, you are required to 'be in education' until you turn 18.  This can be studying full time: academic or vocational routes.  Or it can be an apprenticeship or job with training, because you are still attending 'education'.

This diagram explains the different post 16 (and also Post 18) Pathways available

Post-16 Pathway diagram


The South Wolds Academy's Sixth Form


SWA Sixth Form


Other Local Educational Institutions


What are Apprenticeships?

An Apprenticeship is a real job with training, which allows trainees to earn while they learn, as well as gaining a nationally recognised qualification.

Apprenticeships take between one and five years to complete and cover 1,500 job roles in a wide range of industries, from engineering to accountancy, public relations to veterinary nursing.

Apprenticeships are available up to degree level and above.

Find out more here: What is an apprenticeship?


What do the different levels mean?

Which one is right for you?

Grades needed:

  • Intermediate: 3 x GCSEs (including maths and English) grade 3 or more
  • Advanced: 5 x GCSEs (including maths and English) grade 5 or more
  • Higher/degree: A-levels / BTEC


How do I find an apprenticeship?

There are lots of websites that help you find an apprenticeship. Here are links to some main ones:



  • Success at school Advice concerning apprenticeships for different employment sectors:

                Graphic design
                Social care
                Rail engineering


What are Degree Apprenticeships?

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please